thunderstruck9:Toon Kelder (Dutch, 1894-1973),…


Toon Kelder (Dutch, 1894-1973), Building site, Scheveningen. Oil on canvas, 90 x 110 cm.

Anthonius Bernardus (Toon) Kelder (Rotterdam, 24 November 1894 – The Hague, 7 April 1973) was a Dutch painter, draftsman and sculptor.

Kelder is counted among the New Hague School.

The New Hague School is a movement in the visual arts of the fifties and sixties of the 20th century. She opposes the Cobra movement and seeks inspiration in 17th-century art and the experiences of the Barbizon School and the resulting Hague School.

Immediately after the Second World War, the Hague artists with their own innovation in painting came alongside those of the experimental Cobra movement. In 1949, the Posthoorng group first came into being, named after bodega / art room De Posthoorn. This group was dissolved in 1962. In 1951, the Verve group, which focused on the Hague interpretation of the innovations in the École de Paris, came into being with modern figurative art. The group ceased to exist in 1957. As an almost logical continuation of Verve, the group Fugare was founded in 1960 with the emphasis on non-figurative art. This group existed until 1967.

In 1947 an exhibition was organized at The Gemeentemuseum Den Haag for artists from The Hague under the title Haagse Kunstenaars. This exhibition was repeated eight times, until 1959 and it can be seen that the majority of the participants belonged to the Verve and Fugare groups or to the Post Horn group. One can rightly speak of the New Hague School. The term was first used by Jos de Gruyter, then Chief Curator of Modern Art at the Gemeentemuseum Den Haag.

Participants Fugare: Hubert Bekman, Theo Bitter, Harry Disberg, Jan van Heel, Willem Hussem, Nol Kroes, Joop Kropff, George Lampe, Christiaan de Moor, Theo van der Nahmer, Jaap Nanninga, Wim Sinemus, Gerard Verdijk, Frans de Wit and Aart van den IJssel.

Contemporaries: Until the New Hague School, the contemporaries not affiliated with Verve, Fugare and Posthoorngroep can also be counted as:
Kees Andréa, Livinus of the Bundt, Paul Citroen, Harm Kamerlingh Onnes, Toon Kelder, Piet Ouborg, Willem Rozendaal, Albert Termote, Jules Vermeire and Toon Wegner.

Furthermore, the contemporaries who have exhibited in Kunstzaal De Posthoorn, such as: Johan van den Berg, Karel Bleijenberg, Thaddeus van Eijsden, Jan Goeting, Hens de Jong, Jan Kuiper, Thijs Overmans, Harry Verburg and Karel Wiggers.